CLEO®/Europe 2007 Plenary

The Exawatt laser: from relativistic to ultra relativistic optics
Gérard Mourou, ENSTA, Laboratoire d'Optique Appliquée, Palaiseau, France

This plenary will be given on Monday 18 June from 09:30 to 10:30, Room 1

IQEC 2007 Plenary

A passion for precision
Theodor W. Hänsch, Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching, Germany

This plenary together with the OSA and EPS Awards Ceremony will be given on Tuesday 19 June from 10:30 to 12:00, Room 1



OSA Awards Ceremony

Joseph H. Eberly, OSA President, will recognize the following recently elected OSA Fellows during the Conference Award Ceremony on Tuesday 19 June from 10:30 to 12:00, Room 1.

Juan Campos, Universidad Autonoma de Barcelona, Spain

For specific achievements in optical image processing, modeling of liquid crystal panels, development of optical deflectrometry metrology, and service to the international optics community.

Michael J. Damzen, Imperial College London, United Kingdom

For contributions to optics and laser physics over more than 25 years through research into nonlinear optics and development of laser technology and through his inspired teaching.


Richard De La Rue, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom

For contributions to integrated optical device technology, from electro-optic switches through semiconductor lasers to photonic crystals.


John D. Harvey, University of Auckland, New Zealand

For pioneering contributions in biophotonics, nonlinear fiber optics and optical communications research.


Wieslaw Z. Krolikowski, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

For important contributions to the physics of optical spatial solitons.


Irina T. Sorokina, Technische Universität Wien, Austria

For pioneering contributions to tunable and ultrashort-pulse solid-state lasers and their applications in spectroscopy, particularly based on novel laser crystals in the near- and mid-infrared spectral regions.

Mitsuo Takeda, The University of Electro-Communications, Tokyo, Japan

For outstanding contributions to the advancement of optical metrology especially through the invention of the Fourier transform method for fringe analysis.

EPS Awards Ceremony:

EPS Quantum Electronics Prizes

for outstanding contributions to quantum electronics and optics. There is one prize for fundamental aspects and one prize for applied aspects.

Fresnel Prizes

for outstanding contributions to quantum electronics and optics made by young scientists before the age of 35. There is one prize for fundamental aspects and one prize for applied aspects.

QEOD Thesis Prizes

for the best nominated PhD theses in the area of quantum electronics and optics submitted in the two years prior to the CLEO/Europe-IQEC meeting. These prizes (total of 4) will be awarded for fundamental and for applied aspects.

CLEO IQEC 2007 Walther Memorial Plenary

The late Professor Herbert Walther was instrumental in the organisation and success of CLEO Europe and in cementing international bonds between researchers in optics in many fields. In his honour, this special Memorial Session will consist of a number of invited presentations spanning the wide range of his technical interests.

Moderator and short introduction
Ferenc Krausz, Max Plank Institute of Quantum Optics, Garching, Germany

Quantum entanglement: a vanishing resource
Joseph Eberly, University of Rochester, USA

Title to be given later
Axel Schenzle, University of Munich, Germany

This memorial session will be presented on Thursday 21 June from 13:30 to 14:30, Room 1

European Physical Society Optical Society of America Laser 2005